2021 Dr. W. W. Hay Award Call for Entries

The Dr. W. W. Hay Award for Excellence was established by the Directors of AREMA to recognize outstanding achievement in Railway Engineering and to honor the memory and
accomplishments of one of their members and leaders: William Walter Hay.

Dr. Hay was a professional railroader in both the military transportation service and the private railway industry. He was a consultant on design, construction and operations of railroads and, for over 25 years, he was a Professor of Railway Civil Engineering at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. He was also a teacher, motivator and mentor for dozens of men and women who chose to enter the transportation industry.

Entries should be received by: June 18, 2021

The purpose of the award is to honor innovative railway engineering procedures, projects and products and the individual(s) who have created and successfully applied them to the railroad industry. Criteria for winning the award are:

  • Innovation - The development and/or application of new concepts, products or practices including state-of-the-art physical and information-oriented technology.
  • Safety - The enhancement of safety in either the application itself or as a process of procedure which contributes to the overall safety of railroad personnel or railway operations.
  • Service Performance and Reliability - An undertaking which contributes to more efficient, effective and reliable railway performance, especially as viewed by the railroad’s customers.
    Consideration is also given to the project’s objective, stated goals, costs and benefit achievement and the general advancement of the base of railway engineering knowledge.

Please send six (6) copies of your entry. Each entry should include a brief description of the project, specifically focused on how it deals with and achieves the Hay Award Criteria and a cover letter with contact information. Any additional information which will aid in understanding the scope, impact and success of the entry will be appreciated.

Send 2021 Entries To:

AREMA c/o Alayne Bell
4501 Forbes Blvd., Suite 130
Lanham, MD 20706
T: +1.301.359.3200
Or email Alayne Bell

2020 Dr. W. W. Hay Award Winner